Contact Wynberg

Please contact us

Office Hours: 07h30 – 15h30, Monday – Friday during school terms
Address: Lovers Walk, Wynberg, Cape Town, 7800
Email: secretaries@wbhs.org.za
Phone: 021 797 4247

Staff Details

Mr Jan de Waal
Headmaster
jdewaal@wbhs.org.za

Mr Larry Moser
Senior Deputy Headmaster: Institutional Welfare
lmoser@wbhs.org.za

Mr Peter van Schalkwyk
Deputy Headmaster: Curricular Operations
peterv@wbhs.org.za

Mr Roland Rudd
Vice-Principal: Pastoral Affairs
rrudd@wbhs.org.za

Mr Michael Engelbrecht
Vice-Principal: Academics
mengelbrecht@wbhs.org.za

Mr Cliff Hull
Vice-Principal: Business Operations
chull@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Cheryl Smith
Finance Manager
chesmi@wbhs.org.za

Accounting

Subject Head – Ms Lisa Brady, lbrady@wbhs.org.za 
Mr André van Vuuren,  avuuren@wbhs.org.za 

Afrikaans

Subject Head – Mrs Renette Spammer, rspammer@wbhs.org.za
Mr Jan de Waal, jdewaal@wbhs.org.za
Mrs Karen Swart,
kswart@wbhs.org.za
Mr Estian van der Merwe, emerwe@wbhs.org.za
Mr Jacobus Coetzee jhcoetzee@wbhs.org.za
Mr James van Bosch, jbosch@wbhs.org.za
Mr Riccardo van Niekerk, rvanniekerk@wbhs.org.za
Mr Given Mogale, gmogale@wbhs.org.za

Construction Studies

Subject Head – Mr Stefan Potgieter, spotgieter@wbhs.org.za
Mr Jason Pretorius, jpretorius@wbhs.org.za

Creative Arts

Subject Head – TBA
Mrs Mandy Colman, mcolman@wbhs.org.za
Ms Tracey Brandt, tbrandt@wbhs.org.za

Economics

Subject Head – Mr Michael Engelbrecht, mengelbrecht@wbhs.org.za
Mr Justin van Winkel, jvanwinkel@wbhs.org.za
Ms Lisa Brady, lbrady@wbhs.org.za 
Mr André van Vuuren,  avuuren@wbhs.org.za
Mr Andries Bezuidenhout, abezuidenhout@wbhs.org.za

Electronics

Subject Head – Mr Stephan Pretorius, spretorius@wbhs.org.za

EMS

Subject Head – Mr André van Vuuren,  avuuren@wbhs.org.za
Ms Lisa Brady
lbrady@wbhs.org.za 
Mr Andries Bezuidenhout, abezuidenhout@wbhs.org.za
Mr Russel-John Theunissen, rj@wbhs.org.za

Engineering Graphics & Design (EGD)

Subject Head – Mr Jean Holton, jholton@wbhs.org.za
Mr Stefan Potgieter,
spotgieter@wbhs.org.za
Mr Roland Rudd, rrudd@wbhs.org.za

English

Subject Head – Ms Jocelyn de Mink, jdemink@wbhs.org.za
Ms Lauren Cleophas, lcleophas@wbhs.org.za
Mr Christopher Moore, cmoore@wbhs.org.za
Mr Blake Rimmer, brimmer@wbhs.org.za
Mr Chris Rushby, crushby@wbhs.org.za
Ms Courtney Wallace, cwallace@wbhs.org.za
Mrs Juanita Wilson, jwilson@wbhs.org.za
Ms Siobhan Bruce, sbruce@wbhs.org.za
Mr Taahir Samaai, tsamaai@wbhs.org.za

Geography

Subject Head – Mr Chris Rushby, crushby@wbhs.org.za
Mr Josh Bassett,
jbassett@wbhs.org.za
Mr Adolf Groenewald, agroenewald@wbhs.org.za
Mr Mouton Joubert, mjoubert@wbhs.org.za

History

Subject Head – Mr Alan Herbert, aherbert@wbhs.org.za
Mr Peter van Schalkwyk, peterv@wbhs.org.za
Mr Joel Erasmus, jerasmus@wbhs.org.za
Mr Mouton Joubert, mjoubert@wbhs.org.za

Information Technology

Subject Head – Mr Mariano Badiali, mariano@wbhs.org.za
Mr Mike Scordilis, mscordilis@wbhs.org.za

IsiXhosa

Subject Head – Ms Bulelwa Mhlomi, bmhlomi@wbhs.org.za

Life Orientation

Subject Head – Mrs Roxane Groenewald, rgroenewald@wbhs.org.za

Life Sciences

Subject Head – Mr Jason Pretorius, jpretorius@wbhs.org.za
Mr Josh Bassett, jbassett@wbhs.org.za

Ms Lauren Cleophas, lcleophas@wbhs.org.za
Mrs Roxane Groenewald, rgroenewald@wbhs.org.za
Ms Melissa Davids, mdavids@wbhs.org.za 
Mr Joshua Stevens, jstevens@wbhs.org.za
Ms Rukeya Samaai, rsamaai@wbhs.org.za

Mathematics

Subject Head – Mrs Geraldine van der Westhuizen, gwesthuizen@wbhs.org.za
Mr Larry Moser, lmoser@wbhs.org.za
Mr Cliff Hull, chull@wbhs.org.za
Mr Michael Leresche, mleresche@wbhs.org.za
Mr Pietie Loubser, ploubser@wbhs.org.za
Mr Jason Pretorius, jpretorius@wbhs.org.za
Mr Nicholas Mlotshwa, nmlotshwa@wbhs.org.za
Mr Benjamin Wiley, bwiley@wbhs.org.za
Ms Tania du Toit, tdutoit@wbhs.org.za

Maths Literacy

Subject Head – Mrs Roxane Groenewald, rgroenewald@wbhs.org.za
Mr Dylan Grobler, dgrobler@wbhs.org.za  (Intern)

Support Maths

Mrs Geraldine van der Westhuizen, gwesthuizen@wbhs.org.za
Ms Tania du Toit, tdutoit@wbhs.org.za

Music

Subject Head – Mr Richard Haigh, rhaigh@wbhs.org.za
Mr Peter Catzavelos, peterc@wbhs.org.za
Mr Ben van Wyk, bvanwyk@wbhs.org.za 
Mrs Natalie Karg, nkarg@wbhs.org.za

Natural Sciences

Subject Head – Ms Lauren Cleophas, lcleophas@wbhs.org.za
Mr Adolf Groenewald, agroenewald@wbhs.org.za
Mr Brian Punt, bpunt@wbhs.org.za
Mr Jason Pretorius, jpretorius@wbhs.org.za
Ms Melissa Davids, mdavids@wbhs.org.za
Ms Kayla Hoey, khoey@wbhs.org.za
Mr Joshua Stevens, jstevens@wbhs.org.za
Mr Ighlaas Saiet, isaiet@wbhs.org.za (Intern)

Physical Sciences

Subject Head – Mr Graham James, gjames@wbhs.org.za 
Mr Larry Moser, lmoser@wbhs.org.za
Mr Josh Bassett, jbassett@wbhs.org.za
Mr Zayd Hendricks, zhendricks@wbhs.org.za
Mr Julian Taylor, jtaylor@wbhs.org.za  
Mr Joshua Stevens, jstevens@wbhs.org.za
Ms Kayla Hoey, khoey@wbhs.org.za

Technology

Subject Head – Mr Stephan Pretorius, spretorius@wbhs.org.za
Mr Stefan Potgieter, spotgieter@wbhs.org.za
Mr Juan Holton, jholton@wbhs.org.za
Mr Graham James, gjames@wbhs.org.za 
Mr Chris Rushby, crushby@wbhs.org.za

Mr Sheldon Norris, snorris@wbhs.org.za (Intern)
Mr Nicholas Scott, nscott@wbhs.org.za  (Intern)

Visual Arts

Subject Head – Mrs Mandy Colman, mcolman@wbhs.org.za
Ms Tracey Brandt, tbrandt@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Athletics
Mr Estian van der Merwe – emerwe@wbhs.org.za 

Teacher in Charge of Basketball
Mr Mike Leresche – mleresche@wbhs.org.za

Director of Cricket: Mr Andrew Wylie – awylie@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Cross Country
Ms Lauren Cleophas – lcleophas@wbhs.org.za 

Teacher in Charge of Golf
Mr Pietie Loubser – ploubser@wbhs.org.za

Hockey

  • Director of Hockey: Mr Devin Stanton – dstanton@wbhs.org.za
  • Teacher in Charge of Hockey: Ms Courtney Wallace – 
    cwallace@wbhs.org.za 

Rugby

  • Director of Rugby: Mr Craig Childs – cchilds@wbhs.org.za
  • Teacher in Charge of Rugby: Mr Christopher Moore – cmoore@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Soccer:
Mr Roland Rudd – rrudd@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Squash
Mrs Roxane Groenewald – rgroenewald@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Swimming
Ms Kayla Hoey – khoey@wbhs.org.za

Teacher in Charge of Tennis
Mr James van Bosch – jbosch@wbhs.org.za 

Water Polo

  • Director of Water Polo: Mr Bryan Punt – bpunt@wbhs.org.za
  • Teacher in Charge of Water Polo: Mr Adolf Groenewald – agroenewald@wbhs.org.za

Finance and Administration

Mrs Cheryl Smith, Finance Manager
chesmi@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Lyn Makinson, Fees 
lmakinson@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Lynda Niddrie, Finance Administrator
lniddrie@wbhs.org.za

Ms Simphiwe Qabaka, HR
sqakaba@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Christelle Lefson, Headmaster’s PA / School Secretary
clefson@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Shireen van der Rheede, Admissions Secretary
shireenv@wbhs.org.za

Mrs Robyn Clark, School Secretary
rclark@wbhs.org.za

Student Support

Mr Wandile Nxusani, School Counsellor
wnxusani@wbhs.org.za

IT

Mr Christiaan Venter – chris@wbhs.org.za
Mr Andries Louw
– andries@wbhs.org.za
Mr Enver Hassim – enver@wbhs.org.za

Marketing, Events, Fundraising, and Media

Mrs Jeanette Muller – Marketing, Events, and Sponsorships
jmuller@wbhs.org.za

Mr Chris Merrington – Website, Digital Marketing, and Social Media
chrism@wbhs.org.za

Ms Jamie Snoek – Marketing Intern
jsnoek@wbhs.org.za

Wynberg Old Boys’ Union

Mr Cameron Shenker – Secretary & Bill Bowden Pavilion Manager
cshenker@wbhs.org.za

Security

Mr Jeremy Kellerman – jkellerman@wbhs.org.za

Edries Burton – Chairperson
edriesburton@mweb.co.za

Andrew Bearne – Finance
abearne@herschel.org.za

Damascene Taylor – Human Resources
damascene.taylor@warwickwealth.com

Georgie Borgström – Amenities
mgb@iplus.co.za

Stephanie Sieberhagen – Education
stephaniesieberhagen@gmail.com

Mark Sangster – Safety & Security
mark@quadrantservices.co.za

Louise Friester-Sampson – Legal
lafriester@npa.gov.za

Associate Members

Matthew Thomson
matthew@dingleymarshall.co.za

Adrian Larkin
adrian@brandesign.co.za

Glen Cassells
glen@maserumulecpt.co.za

Staff

Jan de Waal
jdewaal@wbhs.org.za

Larry Moser
lmoser@wbhs.org.za

Peter van Schalkwyk
peterv@wbhs.org.za

Cheryl Smith
chesmi@wbhs.org.za

Jeremy Petersen
jeremy@wbhs.org.za

Shireen van der Rheede
shireenv@wbhs.org.za

Learners

Ben Currie

Thomas Hugo

Admissions Secretary

Mrs Shireen van der Rheede
Wynberg Boys’ High School
Lovers Walk
Wynberg 7800

Fax: +27 21 761 0959

E-mail: shireenv@wbhs.org.za

Discover your potential

Wynberg Boys’ High School is committed to exceptional education, academic innovation and discovering the potential in each and every learner. Our modern facilities, expansive opportunities and tradition rich values ensure that each learner is primed to unlock his potential, ensuring that he goes on to become an exceptional member of our society.