De Waal

De Waal House  De Waal Photos  House News
Wynberg Boys' High School De Waal House
Insignia & History of De Waal House

De Waal is one of the school’s original four houses, and has the anchor on a yellow background as its symbol. The anchor, which makes up one of the four quadrants of the school’s badge, symbolises hope and is associated with the figure of Hope which first appeared on the Coat of Arms of the Cape Colony and is still a feature of the arms of Cape Town. The House takes its name from Sir N. F. de Waal, who served two successive terms as Colonial Secretary of the Cape Colony and was reappointed for a third time in 1920.

De Waal House: Leadership 2017
House Head:

Mr Adolf  Groenewald agroenewald(@) (remove parentheses)


Mr Brian Botha – brianb(@) (remove parentheses)

Mrs Mandy Colman – mcolman(@) (remove parentheses)

Ms Laura Diedericks – ldiedericks(@) (remove parentheses)

Mr Ndumiso Makhathini

House Prefect:

Matthew Deglon

House Venue:

Library Quad or C31-2